“The Letter” by Debbie Lynne Costello

Merry Christmas and Happy Thanksgiving from Debbie Lynne Costello! I love the holiday season and am thrilled to have my story in A Cup of Christmas Cheer, Volume Three: Heartwarming Tales of Christmas Past. The past is one of my favorite places to spend my time.

aThe setting:
“The Letter” takes place in Savannah, Georgia, 1945, in the beautiful antebellum home of Jennifer’s in-laws.

The story:
Wars bring sadness, and Christmas time for some can extra hard. WWII was no exception. But the pain and loss that a war can bring can also be the pivotal momentum that is needed to heal old wounds and draw families together.

Benjamin Davis, is a man who knows the pain of losing his only child to the war and with it his only family and legacy—his grandkids. A simple letter in the mail gives him hope for reconciliation between his daughter-in-law and wife—two women who fiercely loved his son. There are Christmas miracles happening in the Davis house this Christmas season and not just reconciliation.

aa

The Inspiration:
I come from a family of more than a few military men and women—my husband, son, father, uncles, nephews, niece. I really respect the sacrifice that our military make so we can enjoy the freedom that we do. My great-great uncle fought in World War II and never made it home. This story was written for him. I never met the man, but I appreciate his sacrifice. I started with that idea and then started asking myself what if…

HopeBapThe takeaway:
There are always going to be people with whom we just don’t seem to connect. Sometimes those people are family, and sometimes things go beyond not connecting to the point of dislike and not wanting to spend time around them. My hope is that as people read “The Letter” they will reevaluate their broken relationships and try to see things from the other person’s perspective. It’s easy to get wrapped up in ourselves, but my hope is that hearts will be softened, forgiveness found, and the love of Christ will be shown so that relationships can be healed.

ChristmasTree4Traditions:
When I was a child, I couldn’t wait for Christmas Eve. The freshly cut tree was surrounded by presents that I’d already poked and prodded, and I attempted to guess what wonderful gift the wrapping held. But besides the additional gifts that miraculously appeared on Christmas morning, there were three gifts that never went under the tree. These were hand delivered by my mom just before we went to bed on Christmas Eve

One gift went to each of us three kids. And we knew what we were going to open. Oh the colors would be different, the sizes larger, but it was still the most exciting time. We’d unwrap our gifts and run up and put on our new pajamas. I have kids now and I did the same thing for them but I added a gift—a stuffed animal to sleep with to go along with their new jammies. It’s fun to see the tradition continue with my new grandbabies as they open their Christmas Eve gifts.

Your turn:
Do you think that the Christmas Season makes it easier to forgive people and bring reconciliation? Why or why not?

Have a wonderful and blessed Christmas Season!

My giveaway!

I’m giving away this fun Christmas travel mug with cocoa to one winner.

Debbie Lynne's Giveaway

Click this link to be taken to the Rafflecopter drawing.
Once there, follow the directions to enter.

For your protection, do not include personal information in a comment.

Congratulations to Dee S., winner of the Giveaway!

Christmas Tree Border

Check out the Giveaways page on our site to learn about our Goodreads giveaway.
We’re offering five sets of A Cup of Christmas Cheer Volumes Three and Four.

(Note: If comments aren’t visible below the post, click the green circle under the post date.)

Christmas Tree Border

Debbie Lynne CostelloThe storyteller:
Debbie Lynne Costello loved to write since she was a young child. She writes Medievals and 19th Century Southern-kissed Romance. A Cup of Christmas Cheer gave her a chance to write a WWII story.

Debbie Lynne and her husband have four children. They live in upstate South Carolina. She has raised Shetland sheepdogs for eighteen years. And in her spare time, she likes to ride her Arabian horses. If you’d like to connect with Debbie Lynne, stop by her website: debbielynnecostello.com.

 

30 thoughts on ““The Letter” by Debbie Lynne Costello

  1. Debbie Lynne, what a rich heritage you have with so many military members in your family. I appreciate their service.

    I think it is easier to forgive at Christmas. The joy of the season can soften hearts and turn them toward home and family. If relationships are strained, the desire to repair them can be greater.

  2. Hey Keli, Thank you. I have such a strong appreciation for out servicemen past and present. We have so many freedoms because of their sacrifices. I agree about forgiving at Christmas. I think our hearts are softer. I also think that for people who know the Lord, they know that on that day a child was born for our forgiveness of sin. What a great sacrifice!

  3. What wonderful experiences you had over the years, Debbie.
    I know there were many letters lost during WWII especially, and
    those that returned, including my father, were blessed. I think holding onto bad feelings only hurt us, and especially considering the gift Christ gave, it would seem like the best time to make ammends.

    • Amen, Diane! I read once that unforgiveness is like drinking poison and hoping the other person dies. It doesn’t hurt them but you. I thought it a wonderful comparison. I’m so glad your father made it home. If he is still alive thank him for me for his services. God bless!

  4. I love the premise and setting of your story! Can’t wait to read it! And yes, like you, we had the jammies tradition. I keep trying to bring it back but it’s hard to buy jammies for my 20 something boys when I know they won’t get worn except on Christmas morning! 🙂

    I always hope Christmas makes it easier for reconciliations!

    • Anne. I know what you mean. My three boys are all in their 20’s. I have one who will wear them but the others won’t. Sometimes I think about making them all matching sets with little reindeer with red noses. LOL!

  5. Debbie Lynne, I can so relate to both the 40s and the love of Christmas. I haven’t read the stories in CoCC yet;; I’m saving them for the holidays. But I know yours will be one I will love. I absolutely feel that, in spite of the sadness the Christmas holidays can sometimes bring, Christmas can be used as another of God’s tools to begin a positive work on broken relationships. Thanks for sharing what I know is going to be a delight.
    Blessings,
    Jacqueline

    • Thank you, Jacqueline. I’m looking forward to reading these all at Christmas, too. I really love the holiday season. I love the memories that each year brings and look forward to adding to them.

  6. Your story is next on my list to read, Debbie, and now I’m even more excited to dive in! I love how your story weaves in your family’s dedication to serving our country. Thanks for sharing your inspiration today!

    • Thank you, Sarah. I’m looking forward to curling up before the fireplace and reading all the stories. But I’m saving them as a Christmas holiday treat for myself! I love Christmas stories to get me in the mood for the season.

  7. Sounds like a wonderful book! I think it is easier to forgive during the Christmas season because we are reminded of Christ’s birth and what that truly means.

    • Yes! Exactly, Beth. So thankful for His sacrifice. We have some awesome authors in collection. I hope you get a chance to read the book. Thank you for stopping by and chatting.

  8. Christmas is a wonderful time filled with family, love and traditions. Reconciliations might be easier at this time.

    • Hey Melanie! Perhaps that is why Christmas gives us a warm feelings. It seems to stir the feelings of family and memories and makes us want to create more. So thankful for all the memories I have of my grandmother at Christmas time. Makes me smile just thinking about her. Thanks for coming by!

  9. Hi Debbie.
    I can’t wait to read your story. I do think its easier to forgive during the Christmas season. The season reminds everyone what’s truly most important, family, friends and love.

    • Hey Katie! Thank you. I hope you enjoy The Letter. I’d love to hear if you like it. I do love Christmas. I am sitting in a condo at Myrtle Beach with my daughter and sister and we are here for a week sewing Christmas gifts and listening to Christmas music. So I’m already getting in the mood for the season.

  10. Life sure does keep going on regardless of the day! And for me like many people, Christmas is even busier with all the different church, school, and community activities. I know by the time the new year rings in I am usually exhausted! Hope your holiday season is wonderful. Thanks for stopping by our blog!

  11. Thank you, Johnnie! I really appreciate your help spreading the word. And thank you for the encouragement!!

  12. Perhaps Christmas crestes a time of reconciliation but it’s easter for me… knowing jesus died on the cross for me…makes me ashamed if im holding something against a someone else.

    • Thanks for coming by, Melody. I agree, Easter is also a time when I think many think about what our Lord has sacrificed for us and causes us to reevaluate things in our life. I’m so thankful for both of these holidays and what they bring to my life.

  13. This is a difficult question to answer. The holidays can be a time of forgiveness. Also it can be very hard if one has experienced loss or trauma. Regardless, we should be focused on pleasing the Lord.

    • Yes! The Lord should always be first and foremost in our lives and thoughts. But I think as human as we are that sometimes the warmth and love that comes with Christmas can trigger the desire for reconsideration.

  14. Yes, Christmas should be a time for forgiving & making amends. Jesus forgives, we should too…
    We also got to open one gift on Christmas Eve, & usually yep, pj’s.. Thanks for jogging my memory of that 🙂

    • Hey DK. PJ’s are such a great eve gift! I couldn’t wait to open that gift even though I knew what it was. LOL> Ah to be young again and feel that excitement. But I’m so glad God gives us children and grandchildren so we get to keep on experiencing it just through different eyes.

  15. Awe, Millie, you’re the best! Thank you so much for coming by. You have no idea how much that means to me.

  16. Hey Vera! Thank you for stopping by. :o) I’d still like pj’s for Christmas eve but I wouldn’t want to have to stay in them in the morning for pictures! Good Luck!

Comments are closed.