“The Family Quilt” by Mona Hodgson

Greetings! What a thrill for me to partner with Guideposts Books in bringing heartwarming stories of family and community, love and hope to your hearth in A Cup of Christmas Cheer, Volume Three: Heartwarming Tales of Christmas Past.

Gingerbread ornamentsThe setting:
“The Family Quilt” takes place in Cripple Creek, Colorado. Step back in time to stop in and visit with the Michaels family for Christmas 1898.

The story:
An adult daughter is making a scrap quilt for Christmas to cheer her newly widowed mother and soon finds that the painful remnants in her own heart are being stitched together in love.

Join Patsy Michaels for a cup of tea in the parlor at Miss Hattie’s Boardinghouse. She’s an 1890s stuck-in-the-middle mom to three children, two of them teenage girls, and is daughter to a recently widowed and uprooted mother. Good chance Patsy’s not the only one who has found herself in difficult circumstances in the Christmas season. I know I’ve been there. Perhaps you have, too. Join me in the pages of “The Family Quilt” to see how God answers Patsy’s prayers, even the ones she didn’t realize had passed from her heart to His.

Nine Patch cropped 2The inspiration:
I was the one at my mom’s side when she was widowed at age 56. My two daughters were teenagers at the time, so I knew what it felt like to be in the middle. My sister, Linda, is a quilter, and when her father-in-law passed, she made a memory quilt for her mother-in-law.

Trunk one

The takeaway:
My hope is that readers spending time with the various generations of the Michaels’ women in “The Family Quilt” will find new joy in precious memories from their own family histories and be reminded that it’s the gift of one’s time and one’s self that best expresses love.

pecans

Christmas traditions:
Several years ago, I decided to add a sweet and spicy nut mix to my holiday snack tray and Christmas goodie packages I sent home with friends and family. Enter my Southwestern Spicy Pecans, made using salt, sugar, and cayenne.

Your turn:
Do you make a special treat for Christmas parties and family gatherings? We’d love to hear about it.

My Giveaway!

I’m offering a Christmas cup of cheer, a mug filled with goodies.
(US or Canadian residents only for this giveaway, please.)

Click this link to be taken to the Rafflecopter drawing.
Once there, follow the directions to enter.

For your protection, do not include personal information in a comment.

Congratulations to Robin W., winner of the giveaway!

May your Christmas be filled with warm memories and cozy family quilts!

Christmas Tree Border

Check out the Giveaways page on our site to learn about our  Goodreads giveaway.
We’re offering five sets of A Cup of Christmas Cheer Volumes Three and Four.

(Note: If comments aren’t visible below the post, click the green circle under the post date.)

Christmas Tree Border

 

Mona Hodgson Gray croppedThe storyteller:

MONA HODGSON is the author of nearly 40 books, historical novels for adults and children’s books, including her popular Sinclair Sisters of Cripple Creek Series, The Quilted Heart novellas, and Prairie Song. Her children’s books include bestseller, Bedtime in the Southwest, Real Girls of the Bible: A 31-Day Devotional, and many more. Mona from Arizona speaks for women’s conferences and retreats, book clubs and reading groups, schools, and conferences for writers and librarians. Learn more about Mona at www.monahodgson.com.

 

25 thoughts on ““The Family Quilt” by Mona Hodgson

  1. Mona, your story sounds great. I look forward to reading it.

    The dish I usually take to Christmas parties is a platter of Deviled Eggs. They never fail to be a hit at the hors d’ouevres table.

  2. I cook my family dinner on Christmas Eve. It’s tradition for me to make sausage casserole, broccoli casserole , banana pudding and preacher cookies.

  3. Mona, what a fun story. I sewed all my daughter’s dresses and outfits through school and saved fabric from each. And I saved my boys favorite blue jeans. Then I saved all of their favorite tee-shirts. I made each of my kids a tee shirt quilt when they went off to college that had their favorite teeshirts starting from when they were about 4. Each quilt held around 30 tee shirts. Gave them warm memories while away at college. And I made a queen wedding quilt for my daughter with the fabric from all her old dresses and outfits. I made by boys each queen size blue jean quilts which they all use and love. But boy, are those heavy! And when they are wet they weighed around 30 pounds!

  4. A memory quilt – What a neat idea, Mona! I can’t wait to read your story!

    As for special treats, my mom always made buttermilk cookies for Christmas. They’re like a sugar cookie, only softer. She’d buy a quart of buttermilk and make batches of cookies until the buttermilk ran out. Which meant our pantry and freezer were stuffed to the gills to them (and so were our bellies). 🙂

  5. I can’t wait to read all of these stories. One of my favorite treats to make during the holiday season is Apple Butter Cake. My whole family loves it.

  6. Hi Mona! I am so excited to read “The Family Quilt”!! My most requested holiday dishes are coffee cake for Christmas breakfast and chicken and dressing for Christmas dinner.

  7. Sausage balls & decorated sugar cookies are my must takes for our Christmas gatherings! Excited about THE FAMILY QUILT!!
    RW620(at)aol(dot)com

  8. I always make a huge platter of different types of cookies and fudges including peanutbutter fudge. With my 12 children to eat it all there is not much left over for company so I always bake extras and hide them away for company.

  9. The stories give me a warm and fuzzy feeling. I love them.
    I would love to treat myself to a cup of tea in the evening after taking care of my children all day.
    I have 12 precious ones and while alot of work they are so worth it.
    I make many, many platters of hoilday cookies and fudges including peanut butter fudge.

Comments are closed.