An Interview with Guideposts editor Jon Woodhams

Covers from AnitaWe were privileged to have the editor of A Cup of Christmas Cheer, Jon Woodhams, visit the blog this past Monday. He he told us how he came up with the idea for these heartwarming collections. If you missed his informative and entertaining post, click here.

Jon has worked tirelessly to make sure each of the stories in the A Cup of Christmas Cheer collections is pruned, polished, and ready for readers. The other authors and I thought it would be fun to learn more about this unsung hero whose fingerprints can be seen throughout the books—even though his name doesn’t appear in them. Jon is a humble fellow, but he’s agreed to an interview.

Welcome back, Jon! It’s great to have you stop by again.

When we authors first saw the covers, I’m sure your heard our exclamations of delight resounding from across the U.S. and up in Canada. They’re gorgeous!

I understand you’re the person behind the cover concepts. How did they come about? Did your memories of Christmases past play a part? Are there key elements in the eight stories in each of the volumes that influenced the images?

Each of the books in A Cup of Christmas Cheer groups the stories into loose categories. This year’s themes are Heartwarming Tales of Christmas Past and Heartwarming Tales of Christmas Present. In both sets of books, the covers really are more evocative than literal.

As I worked with our incredible design team to direct the covers, I wanted to create a feeling or mood for each cover, rather than to show a particular scene from a particular story. After all, with such a wonderful variety of time periods, characters, and settings, how could I possibly choose one?

For the Christmas Past cover, I wanted to create a strong feeling of yearning and nostalgia. I could picture eager young children peering in a toy store window, dreaming of finding their favorite toys under the tree on Christmas morning.

For Christmas Present, the challenge was a little greater. So, while we still wanted to create a sense of childlike curiosity and delightful secrets, we did so using a visual pun: Our Christmas Present cover is, in fact, an unopened Christmas present, glowing under the lights of the Christmas tree.

The illustrator for both sets of books—giving credit where credit is very much due—is the very talented Greg Copeland. He brought to life the concepts I had for all four of the covers in such a wondrous and appealing way.

We now know how the gorgeous covers were created. How did you go about choosing the stories for each of the volumes? Did you have a theme in mind when you started the process, or did you select stories you think will appeal to Guideposts readers?

Here again, as with the illustrations, it all starts with a theme. This year, dividing the stories into Past and Present categories seemed a logical choice. Christmas is always nostalgic—our foundational memories of Christmas are intrinsically bound to the past and to our childhoods—but Christmas is always new as well.

From there, I worked with literary agents to obtain submissions of story synopses from a number of authors, and we (I along with two Guideposts colleagues) reviewed the synopses and writing samples from each author. From that field of submissions, we then chose those we felt would be most appealing to Guideposts readers and would make the most cohesive and varied collection of stories. We asked the chosen authors to write short stories based on their synopses. So while the theme helped us categorize the stories, our Guideposts readers were very much at the forefront of our minds as we made our selections.

You’ve been an editor with Guideposts Books for several years, and it’s easy to see from what you’ve shared so far that it’s a good fit for you. What is your favorite aspect of the job?

I’ve always loved reading, and I’ve always loved the power of words to transport a reader to different places and different times, to help us see the world through different eyes. As an editor, I get to work with the very things I enjoy so much. Beyond that, I get to work with a group of authors whose work I admire, and that process of collaboration, as well as the relationships I build with each one, is incredibly satisfying.

Your job entails a good deal of reading, but I have a hunch you read for pleasure as well. What kinds of stories are your favorites? Are you partial to a particular genre?

Much of my work at Guideposts involves our long-running fiction series, including Mysteries of Silver Peak. I must be a perfect fit in that some of my favorite reading over the years has been with series fiction, from the Hardy Boys as a kid to more recent offerings such as Allan Bradley’s delightful Flavia de Luce mystery series.

As a child, I devoured book after book from my family’s extensive collection of Reader’s Digest Condensed Books. I also love C. S. Lewis’s The Chronicles of Narnia and have read them many times. Some of my most beloved books over the years have included Catherine Marshall’s Julie; Markus Zusak’s The Book Thief; many of Mark Twain’s books; Katherine Stockett’s The Help; Taylor Caldwell’s fictionalized biographies of biblical figures such as Dear and Glorious Physician; J. K. Rowling’s Harry Potter series; and Harper Lee’s To Kill a Mockingbird. I also enjoy biographies of well-known or intriguing people.

I heard from one of the Cup of Christmas Cheer authors who had the opportunity to meet with you at a writers conference that you have a hidden talent—something to do with a camera. When did photography capture your interest? What are your favorite types of shots?

I have always enjoyed taking pictures, beginning with my dad’s Super 8 movie camera and a small child’s 126 camera that I got for Christmas one year. I studied the fine arts in college, and while my emphasis was in music, I also had the opportunity to study design and art history and take classes that allowed me to explore various art media. But it wasn’t until I moved to New York that I began to think about photography in a somewhat more serious way.

New York is so chock full of fascinating imagery, from unique architectural details to street photography to well-known landmarks like Radio City Music Hall and the Statue of Liberty, that I felt compelled to start taking pictures of what I saw there. But every town and rural area presents unique opportunities for photography, and I enjoy exploring them all as time allows.

I’m not sure I have a favorite type of shot; my body of work comprises pop art, landscapes, macros, still lifes, florals, abstracts, and lots of shots that celebrate vintage Americana and American industrial design, such as old tractors, cars, cameras, and typewriters. My love of photography has grown and developed (no pun intended), especially since the purchase of my first Nikon digital SLR camera. I’ve had the opportunity to show my photography at numerous local venues, and I also exhibit my photos on several online galleries.

I put my Internet research skills to work and discovered some of your photographs on crated.com. Could I coax you into sharing a few of those photos with us?

Sure. Here are three examples of my work. [Note: click on an image to view it in Jon’s gallery.]

Old twin cameras - studio, backyard misc_sizeWM

Bookends

 

Various flowers, Memphis Botanic Garden 053_sizedWM

A Blaze of Color

 

Fourth of July Macy's Fireworks 008RAW_sizedWM

Verrazano Sunset

Wow! Those are awesome shots, Jon. It’s evident you’re as good with a camera as you are with words.

Thanks for taking time out of your busy day to pay us a visit. It’s been great getting to know you better. In closing, do you have any final words for us?

 I’d like to thank everyone who stopped by. I’ve answered a number of questions in the interview, and now I have a request for all of you.

In the spirit of A Cup of Christmas Cheer,
I’d love to hear about your most memorable Christmas.

Christmas Tree Border

(Note: If comments aren’t visible below the post, click the green circle under the post date.)

Christmas Tree Border

Jon WoodhamsJon Woodhams joined Guideposts Books in 2011 as associate editor of fiction and recently received a promotion to editor. In addition to creating the popular short-story collection A Cup of Christmas Cheer, he edited the popular Guideposts series Miracles of Marble Cove, launched the series Secrets of the Blue Hill Library in 2013, and created the concept for Mysteries of Silver Peak, Guideposts’ newest long-running series, which launched in July of this year. He has worked in Christian publishing for more than twenty years.

8 thoughts on “An Interview with Guideposts editor Jon Woodhams

  1. I very much enjoyed reading your post. I was pleased to discover that we have several similarities in the books we like, especially Bradley’s novels with Flavia de Luce. Being a high school chemistry teacher, I find those stories captivating. Thank you for spending so much time on your interview. I thoroughly enjoyed getting to know you better and seeing some samples of your wonderful photography.

  2. Excellent interview! As an amateur photographer, I’m thoroughly impressed with your photography skills and can see your art background in your shots.

    I have a Nikon Coolpix P500 which is like a hybrid because it has a 36x Optical Zoom which is of the utmost importance to me, without the hassle of interchangeable lenses. I started with a Miranda SLR with a 250mm zoom lens and soon discovered that although I loved the zoom, I hated never having the correct lens for what I wanted at the appropriate time. I have knowingly traded photo sharpness for the convenience factor. And I love it. 😀

    Thanks for taking the time to post on the CoCC blog on Monday as well as today. 🙂

    • Anita, I do understand the appeal of a superzoom like yours (and of the simplicity of it too). Sounds like you’ve found the camera that best suits your needs.

  3. What a great interview, Jon and Keli! Jon, your photography skills are stunning. It was great hearing more behind-the-scenes details about the Cup of Christmas Cheer collection as well. Thanks for visiting again today!

  4. Jon, it was fun getting to know a little about you. I was sorry that this year didn’t work out for me and conference. Especially since I’ve been to the last 5. Your pictures are wonderful. I love the bookends! So creative!! You asked about our most memorable Christmas. It depends if we are talking as a child or an adult because I have fond memories of both. As a child of seven I remember one year when my cousin who was the same as as were with us (home on leave from the Navy) and walked downstairs to find we each had gotten a stuffed dog that was just inches shorter than we were. I think it was being with my cousin after such a long separation and then receiving the same fun gift. My adult memory is my husband and my second Christmas together. We were poor and I knitted my husband a hat from some yarn I had and I cut up a shirt of mine and made my daughter a new dress and a cloth ball. Thanks so much for all your hard work on the Cup of Christmas Cheer, Jon. It has been a real pleasure working with you!

  5. Jon, thanks for coming by! It was neat to read more about the collection and see some of your photography. It’s clear your artistic eye has had an impact on the creative vision of the covers for ACoCC! Thanks for your hard work!

Comments are closed.